Much of the red granite used for building in ancient Egypt came from quarries in the Aswan area. In one of these quarries lies The Unfinished Obelisk. It is 42m in length and has been carved out on three sides with the bottom side still attached to the bedrock.It is thought to have been abandoned during its construction when some cracks appeared in the rock. Had the obelisk been completed it would have been the heaviest obelisk ever cut in Ancient Egypt, weighing over 1000 tons.
The obelisk is located a short walk from the Nubia Museum on the opposite side of the Fatimid Cemetary.
Entrance 80LE (2020)